Christmas

Just some shots from what we’ve been up to over the Christmas break. It’s really great that Cat and I are able to work in similar fields, which means that most of our vacations coincide with each other (except I don’t get summers off!).

Image

Our annual family Christmas party was in Kingston this year, and it just so happened that some of my cousins’ little ones from a branch of the family that we don’t see often joined us this year! So my brother and I decided to host a gingerbread house event (it wasn’t really a contest) for the little guys at his place. My cousin at the end of the table there is an architect in Montreal so he was REALLY into it with his open floor plan gingerbread condo complex.

Image

Things were so busy this year between me traveling for work shortly before the Christmas break and heading to Toronto to spend some time with Cat’s family that my parents didn’t get their presents until after Christmas day! Early on Boxing Day my brother and I headed over to my parents place to give them in person.

Image

Catherine and I were totally loaded up on gift cards from Christmas and we decided to spend most of them on home decor. I ended up getting some JBL Duet II speakers for a real bargain at Home Sense and Catherine picked up a few more coffee table books. We also decided that we should spend some time during the break sprucing up our dining room. First part of the project was to remove the horrendous wallpaper trim that has been assaulting my eyes since we first bought the place. I REALLY hated that wallpaper.

Image

Next phase was taping off everything. I originally wanted to try painting the whole main floor, but we quickly realized that it would be way too much work. You can see our little test strip of paint over where Cat was – it was really hard to judge how the room would look based on that one tiny little portion.

Image

This is after two coats of Ultra Pure White by Behr. I love the way it brightens up the space, even at night the white paint makes such a huge difference. We’re going to have to reintroduce colour on that main wall there so that it doesn’t look so washed out, but we’re both really pleased with the outcome so far. This project only cost us about $50 (plus $20 for lunch from Kenko!) which is HUGE savings compared to hiring someone to do it but I’m not sure if I would be as thrilled to do the rest of the main floor. It’s a lot of work doing the prep work for painting (spackle, sanding, washing) and our entry way has a lot of tight corners. Oh well, maybe in the spring.

EDIT: We finished up the dining room today. This is what it looks like!

IMG_1647

5 thoughts on “Christmas”

Leave a Reply

